A Bri-Fi “Sign O’The Times” (UPDATES)

Humane

I just noticed this big, obnoxious board by the side of the road next to the Lower Makefield Dog Park (in Bucks County, PA, for the unfamiliar) for Brian Fitzpatrick, running against Scott Wallace for the PA-01 U.S. House seat.

I guess the thinking is that animal lovers would be passing by the area. Of course, if someone was really trying to make a strategic decision of some kind, they would know that the dog park is practically a ghost town anyway, and my guess is that it’s because people couldn’t be bothered with paying the membership fee which I believe is $50 a month (I don’t own a dog, so I don’t know for sure).

And I thought that seeing this sign gave me an opportunity to make a bit of a case for free speech.

It’s really important for us to communicate our political opinion using our First Amendment rights, and I think this is an example. I mean, it would be truly unfortunate if, say, this board were to be splattered with paint, mud, or some other substance that would make it completely illegible.

Likewise, it would be impolite at a minimum if someone were to – oh, I don’t know – accidentally drag a trailer hitch over the sign, uproot it and carry it into the nearby woods. I shudder to think at the impertinence behind such a course of behavior.

And that’s to say nothing of a stray lit match that could engulf it in flames, turning it into cinders to be swept away with the pickup of next week’s trash. I cannot emphasize how (at the very least) disconcerting that would be as well!

There, I said it, and I hope you now feel a bit enlightened also. Thanks for your time.

Update 1 10/12/18: So the endorsement is a fraudtypical for Bri-Fi!

Update 2 10/12/18: It looks like Bri-Fi won the endorsement of the Michael Bloomberg-backed group Everytown for Gun Safety, as noted here.

However…

The Bucks County iteration of Everytown’s grassroots arm, Moms Demand Action for Gun Sense in America, disbanded this week to protest the endorsement, said former coleader Jessica Getz.

Getz said Fitzpatrick didn’t show up at the local March for Our Lives or other gun-control events, while his Democratic opponent, Scott Wallace, did attend.

She also disliked that Fitzpatrick said in a letter that he voted against the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act, an NRA-backed bill that would make states honor concealed-carry permits from other states, because of “extraneous provisions” in the legislation. He has a “firm belief in the concept of reciprocity,” he wrote.

“The fact that he would have supported that is outrageous,” said Getz.

Fitzpatrick countered that he hasn’t accepted any contributions from pro-gun groups, and he’s right (here).

But if he believes in “reciprocity,” then he’s doing the NRA’s bidding anyway. And as far as I’m concerned, it also proves that Bri-Fi doesn’t give a damn about law enforcement (here).

Humane_Again2

Update 10/14/18: Uh, yeah – THIS is more like it!

And by the way, I’ve been driving around Wrightstown, Lahaska, Warminster and Newtown in Bucks County, and I’ve counted about 4 of those signs total. They all need to go!

Update 1 10/17/18: Stop the presses! No end to Bri-Fi’s nonsense, apparently (here – and he only fired the guy because he was caught).

Update 2 10/17/18: The “Not True” signs have been removed, but of course that huge, obnoxious (and completely untrue) billboard remains.

Leave a comment

  • Top Posts & Pages