A “Condi Comeback” With The “Queen Of Soul”?


This tells us that Aretha Franklin will be performing at the Mann Center for Performing Arts in these parts next Tuesday July 27th, with musical accompaniment provided by former Bushco Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice (as the story tells us, Rice is an accomplished classical pianist).

With that in mind, I wondered if Dr. Rice would care to take a shot at a certain timeless hit from the show’s headliner (here). And if she did, I have a feeling that it would go something like this…

Think (think) think (think) think (think)
think (think) think (think) think (think)

You better think (think) think, or you just might see me once again
Yeah, think – I might lead a 2012 White House win

Let’s go back, let’s go back, let’s go way on way back when
You didn’t even know me, I couldn’t have been too much more than 10 (‘bout 11)
A classmate bombed to death made me know the racists were insane
But after I was a doctor, I still shared their politics all the same

You better think (think) think, or you just might see me once again
Yeah, think – I might lead a 2012 White House win

It’s be freedom (freedom), freedom (freedom), freedom, yeah freedom
Freedom (freedom), freedom (freedom), freedom, ooh freedom (that’s what I call it)

There ain’t nothing you could ask I could answer you but I won’t (on Iraq)
About Iran – put me in charge and pre-emptive war would be back

You better think (think) think, or you just might see me once again
Yeah, think – I might lead a 2012 White House win

Bolton says I’m no hard liner, playin’ games for a fight
He should chill, that PNAC fool – the world’s wrong, and I know I’m right

You better think (think) think, or you just might see me once again
Yeah, think – I might lead a 2012 White House win

Let’s “nation build,” give one more try
One more 9/11, and then let those warheads fly

Ooooh yeah, say goodbye to me (and goodbye to you)

(To the bone for deepness, to the bone for deepness, to the bone for deepness, think about it)

You had better stop and think before you think, think!!

I hope Former Madame Secretary sticks to her career in music and holding down cushy jobs at conservative-friendly think tanks, as opposed to entering public life once more (and I’ll “stick to my day job” also:-).

Leave a Reply

  • Top Posts & Pages

