It’s Bill Donahue, “Handin’ Tickets Out For God” Again

Yep, in a desperate ploy to remain relevant, Bill Donahue of The Catholic League is spouting off about Elton John referring to Jesus as a “gay man” (here).

OK, I’ll be the first to admit that there’s nothing I’ve ever encountered that indicated His sexual preference in any way, not counting any “DaVinci Code” conspiracy theories about Mary Magdalene. But I think what we have here is something on the order of John Lennon saying The Beatles were “bigger than Jesus” fast-forwarded about 45 years or so.

I realize that it probably escapes Bill Donahue that there’s a fair amount of religious references in Elton John’s songs, not merely the one I noted in the title (which comes from “Tiny Dancer,” of course). There’s also “Levon” and “Mona Lisas And Mad Hatters,” as well as the song that appears below; I realize the tune first and foremost is about criminal behavior that can never be excused (and I personally wish our politicians would take to heart what John says at the very end, but I know it won’t happen), but it also shows a hell of a lot of introspection on the part of Elton John and Bernie Taupin to create it, I believe.

And based on what I know of Bill Donahue, I don’t think the word “introspection” is in his vocabulary at all (though of course, should Donahue ever be inclined to listen and learn…).

Leave a Reply

  • Top Posts & Pages

