Sometimes You Feel Like A Nut

There are times when I just give up trying to engage those on “the right,” particularly when video is readily available to make the case for me instead. And this is one of those times.

What appears below shows a supposed clash between some teabaggers in Long Island, New York and a large, angry African American male who may or may not be affiliated with ACORN (background here). Then, you see one of the teabaggers telling a reporter that “this isn’t racial,” or words to that effect, even though the African American male is not identified, and a clip is shown a few seconds later of some African American women in a slightly agitated state (again, they are not identified as members of ACORN, and it is not at all clear who they are arguing with).

Though I categorically disagree with the teabaggers as much as you can imagine, I do not begrudge them the right to carry out their antics as long as no one is getting hurt; actually, it just further dramatizes how much of a radical fringe they truly are. But as is usually the case, they claim once to be “oppressed” as they “triumph” against those with whom they disagree.

Also, I have a feeling that even posting about this will generate the same response that I endured over that gun post a month or so ago (wasn’t even much work on my part, which is one of the reasons why I didn’t care about deleting it). And I wish to emphasize that I do not claim to know everything and have no issue whatsoever with a lively discussion with people telling me that they think I’m wrong. However, if I have to shut down the comments again, it is because I have neither the time nor the desire to try and refute personal attacks, as well as deal with remarks about assassinating the president (which is what happened last time).

All I will say is that, somehow, we are supposed to achieve something approximating “bipartisanship” with these people. If you have a clue as to how I’m supposed to do that without total capitulation to them, please let me know.

Finally, I wonder if anyone asked Midnight Oil if it was OK to use their song?

Leave a Reply

  • Top Posts & Pages

